MQTT on thingspeak

Has anyone been successful in getting MQTT to work with Thingspeak? I have filled out the route as best as I could with Thingspeak MQTT info:
MQTT broker at the URL mqtt.thingspeak.com and port 1883 with the MQTT Topic set as:
channels/channelD/publish/fields/field1/writeAPIKey

It will not even give a error in the Details field on the Event page.

Hi @jm14830 thanks for the question, and welcome to the community!

We have a ThingSpeak tutorial in the docs, but it uses HTTTP, not MQTT, and Iā€™ve not personally tried MQTT with thingspeak. Would the HTTP approach work for your application?

Thanks for the warm welcome.

No, I specifically need MQTT. Iā€™m not sure how to interpret all of the MQTT fields on the Routes page. Most are self explanatory, but the way it talks about Topics is weird or I just donā€™t understand what it is trying to say. Thingspeak tutorials also mention MQTT parameters that Blues does not mention. I am pretty new to MQTT myself.

Understood. Can you send me a pointer to the ThingSpeak doc for MQTT that youā€™re looking at? Iā€™ll see if I can fill in the gaps for you.

Also, what shows up in the Route Log tab on the event details page?

Hi, the ThingSpeak MQTT API is

Host: mqtt.thingspeak.com
Port: 1883 or 8883 (or Websocket: 80, 443)
PUB -t ā€˜channels/CHANNEL_ID/publish/WRITE_API_KEYā€™ -m ā€˜field1=42&field2=23ā€™
SUB -t ā€˜channels/CHANNEL_ID/subscribe/FORMAT/READ_API_KEYā€™

https://ch.mathworks.com/help/thingspeak/publishtoachannelfeed.html
https://ch.mathworks.com/help/thingspeak/subscribetoachannelfeed.html

Cheers,
Thomas

Here is another page I found that also has some info for Thingspeak.
https://www.mathworks.com/help/thingspeak/mqtt-basics.html

In my Routes Log it just says " No Route Data available". It doesnā€™t even give an error.

@jm14830
It took me a bit to realized the format, but I think this is something we can accomplish with a JSONata transform on the MQTT route.